



## The Energy Union Conference

Friday, 6 February

\*Please note that Latvian time is one hour ahead of Brussels time

## The press conference on 6 February has been cancelled, nevertheless media will be given the opportunity to participate in the conference, as well as watch discussions online on <u>www.eu2015.lv</u>.

Please refer your questions on media accreditation or work of the Media Centre to <u>karina.leja@es2015.lv</u>, phone: +371 26058258.

Interview requests or any other media questions concerning the conference, please send to <u>elita.rubesa@em.gov.lv</u>, phone: +371 26599712.

08:00 Media Centre opens

## **Opening of the conference**

09:10 – 09:35 Opening speech by the Minister for Economics Ms Dana Reizniece-Ozola

Keynote speech by the EC Vice-President Mr Maroš Šefčovič

Address by the Chair of the ITRE Committee in the European Parliament Mr Jerzy Buzek (video message)

## Broader landscape for the European Energy Union

09:35 – 10:50	Moderators: Jurijs Spiridonovs, Deputy State Secretary of the Ministry of Economics of Latvia & Dominique Ristori, Director-General for Energy, European Commission
	Address by the Commissioner for Climate Action and Energy, Mr Miguel Arias Cañete
	Maria van der Hoeven, Executive Director, International Energy Agency (IEA)
	Tord Lien, Minister, Ministry of Petroleum and Energy, Norway
	Robin Dunnigan, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Energy Diplomacy
	Jean-Arnold Vinois on behalf of Jacques Delors Institute/Notre Europe
	Bernadette Ségol, General Secretary, European Trade Union Confederation (ETUC)
	Sanjoy Rajan, Head of the Networks and Conventional Power Division within the Projects Directorate, European Investment Bank (EIB)
	Followed by discussion
10:50 – 11:05	Family photo Photo and video opportunity
The Five Dimen	sions of the European Energy Union

11:15 – 12:00 Moderator: Christopher Jones – Deputy Director General for Energy, European Commission

I Supply security based on solidarity and trust



Latvian Presidency of the Council of the European Union



	Krišjānis Kariņš, European Parliament, ITRE
	Sandrine Dixson-Declève, Director of The Prince of Wales's Corporate Leaders Group and Executive Director of the Green Growth Platform
	Gertjan Lankhorst, President, EUROGAS
	Urban Rusnák, Secretary General, Energy Charter
	Followed by discussion
12:00 – 13:00	Moderator: Christopher Jones – Deputy Director General for Energy, European Commission
	II A competitive and completed internal energy market
	Bente Hagem, Vice-Chairperson of the ENTSO-E Board
	Oluf Ulseth, Chair of the Energy Policy and Generation Committee at Eurelectric,
	CEO of Energi Norge
	Alberto Pototschnig – Director, ACER
	Elmar Thyen, Chair of the CEEP Energy Task Force (The European Centre of Employers and Enterprises providing Public Services)
	Monique Goyens, Director-General, BEUC
	Followed by discussion
The Five Dim	ensions of the European Energy Union (continued)
14:30 – 15:40	Moderator: Gerassimos Thomas – Deputy Director General for Energy, European Commission
	III Moderation of energy demand
	Monica Frassoni – President, EU Alliance to save energy (EU-ASE)
	Paul Voss - Managing Director, Euroheat & Power
	Wendel Trio, Director, Climate Action Network Europe
	IV Decarbonisation of the EU energy mix
	Kristian Ruby, Principal Political Adviser, European Wind Energy Association (EWEA)
	Oliver Schaefer – President, European Photovoltaic Industry Association
	Jean-Pol Poncelet – FORATOM
	Followed by discussion
15:40 – 16:20	Moderator: Gerassimos Thomas – Deputy Director General for Energy, European Commission
	V Research and innovation
	Stephan Brandligt, Deputy-Mayor of Delft (NL), Board Member of Energy Cities and Signatory of the Covenant of Mayors
	Marianne Haug – Professor Energy Policy and Sustainable Development, University of Hohenheim







	Graeme Sweeney, Chairman, Zero Emissions Platform (ZEP)
	Followed by discussion
16:20 - 16:25	Summarising remarks by Maroš Šefčovič, Vice-President of the European Commission for Energy Union
16:25 – 16:35	Conclusions by Dana Reizniece-Ozola, Minister for Economics
18:00	Media Centre closes